The Moose Spy Poem

Our class was wild over our two week literacy unit surrounding the Iditarod Sled Dog Race!  We challenged our favorite musher by counting each page we read during the race as a mile on our giant map of Alaska.  We devoured all kinds of fiction and nonfiction mushing books. We discovered more about nonfiction graphic sources, and we ended every day dancing to “I Did, I Did, I Did the Iditarod Trail.”

The Moose Spy Poem

 

I’m the guy who watches everybody when they least expect it.

I’m the guy who the dogs don’t like very much.

I’m the guy who watches the musher and his dogs sleep at night.

I’m the moose spy that never ever stops watching you.

I’m a tundra stalker, the moose.

 

The Snowy Poem

 

I’m the thing that makes you struggle during the race.

I’m the thing that falls on your head while you’re racing.

I’m the snow of the Iditarod.

Some people love me and some don’t.

2 thoughts on “The Moose Spy Poem

  1. Hi Owen,
    What a descriptive blog entry. It really sounds like you like dogs! Do you own one? My son loves huskies. A few years ago, he asked Santa for 8 of them so he could have an Iditarod team! I really like the poems. The word choice is very thoughtful. Did you write them? I wasn’t sure because there was no author name at the bottom.
    I’m looking forward to chatting with you,
    Lynn Cepella

    1. Thanks for commenting! I used to have three dogs, but I don’t have any now. One of my dogs was named Charlie and we called her Cheerio because she’d spin around in circles chasing her tail.
      Yes, I did write the poems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *